Ricotta blueberry pancakes with a side of bananas, honey and Greek yoghurt

I think I’ve picked endless topics and recipes to write about on my blog over the last couple of weeks, which has probably resulted in taking so long to sit down and write it. This excuse is also coupled with the knowledge that when you get the chance to bake so rarely, it’s really hard to pick just one recipe!

DSC_0176

I was all set to tell you about a lovely blueberry and nectarine cake that I baked last weekend. It brought all the beautiful summer fruits together that I’ve been enjoying as my breakfast each day but in a slightly more indulgent cake form. Ripe nectarines and tangy blueberries are a fantastic combination particularly when smothered in Greek yoghurt and a drizzle of honey. The sponge turned these summer ingredients into a light dessert that finished off a weekend BBQ beautifully. But, as I’m not going to show you any pictures of that one (maybe another time), I suppose I ought to get onto this week’s recipe.

Having the summer off, well on maternity leave anyway… (I wouldn’t say I’m exactly on holiday as having a little one is definitely tiring at times but I can’t complain), I’ve had the opportunity to try lots of restaurants and cafes round south west London to see what they offer for brunch and lunch. I say south west London… what I really mean is generally within an hour’s walk of Barnes.

DSC_0169

Although on one occasion this summer, my sister and I did walk all the way from Barnes to Oxford Street just to go to Patty & Bun for burgers! I know, it’s a long way for a burger, but they were very good burgers, so the 12 mile round trip was totally worth it. Plus, Sebastian got to hang out with Prince George as we passed through Kensington Gardens.

Back to my obsession with brunches.

DSC_0180

My husband finds it hilarious how I get into a phase of just ordering the same thing from each restaurant we go to, which for a while was smashed avocado on toast with a poached egg and if possible, a side order of crispy bacon. What can I say, I’m a creature of habit. But having compared this dish across plenty of establishments, I’m moving onto a new phase… pancakes.

I love pancakes, which I’ve mentioned previously.

DSC_0175

You just can’t go wrong with pancakes for breakfast/brunch/lunch/dinner/tea time/ dessert. They totally work across every mealtime. I got hooked on them again after a walk to Richmond not so long ago and when we took a pit stop in Carluccios for some sustenance to keep us going. Carluccios produced some beautifully light thin pancakes topped with a mixed berry compote and Greek yoghurt. And that was it, I was back on the pankcake bandwagon.

Next stop on my pancake journey was Jackson & Rye in Chiswick for some all American pancakes accompanied with the most divine banana butter cream and a small pot of maple syrup. The butter cream was just so tasty that of course I ended up basically licking the bowl clean and tried to steal the remains of Will’s.

DSC_0182

Gail’s in Barnes also produces lovely blueberry pancakes, as does the Olympic Café where they go for the impressive huge stack of pancakes for you to topple over as you devour the batch.

As you can see… I’m slowly ticking off pancakes from the menu of establishments round southwest London, although I do have a few places left I’d like to compare including Brew in Wandsworth and Hally’s in Parsons Green. But I’ve still got plenty of time to try them out.

DSC_0176

So this week, I took on the pancake mantle and tried to see if I could make some at home that might compete with the restaurant scene.

You’ll find pancake recipes in most cookbooks that cover the mealtimes of the day and I’d been cooking lots of dishes from Izy Hossacks’ ‘Top with cinnamon’ cookbook which had all been really successful so I put her pancake recipe to the test. I can confirm they didn’t disappoint.

DSC_0179

They were fluffy and light with spots of dark blueberries decorating the surface, which burst in your mouth. The wholemeal flour helped to deliver some additional healthy benefits, whilst the ricotta added to the airy nature that American pancakes can some times miss out on.

The pancakes beautifully mopped up the Greek Yoghurt and the bananas fried in coconut oil helped to bring out the subtle coconut flavor in the pancakes.

I think you could stick these pancakes in the healthy category when you take a look at the ingredients involved, but they were so indulgent with rich flavours that you feel like you’re being just a little bit naughty.

The perfect start to any weekend.

Ricotta blueberry pancakes with a side of bananas, honey and Greek yoghurt

Inspired by Izy Hossacks Coconut Berry Pancakes from ‘Top with Cinnamon

Makes 10-12 small pancakes

Ingredients

For the pancakes

60g wholemeal flour

95g plain flour

35g dessicated coconut

1 tsp baking powder

2 tbsp light brown sugar

4 tbsp ricotta

190ml milk

1 egg

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tbsp coconut oil or butter (plus some extra for frying the pancake batter)

75g blueberries

 

For the side

2 medium bananas sliced

2 knobs of butter

Dollop of Greek yoghurt

Drizzle of Honey or maple syrup (as much as you desire!)

Method

Begin by mixing together the flours, coconut, baking powder and light brown sugar. Then add your ricotta, milk, egg and lemon juice and stir until your mixture is just combined.

Melt the coconut oil or butter in a frying pan and then stir this through your batter.

That’s your pancake batter ready!

Using the same frying pan, heat 2 tsps of coconut oil over a medium heat ensuring you swirl it round the pan so that the whole pan is well coated.

Each pancake is made up of 2 tbsps of batter and you should be able to fit 2 to 3 in your frying pan (depending on the size of your pan).

Place 2 tbsps of batter in the pan to make your first pancake and repeat with your next pancake etc. Sprinkle some blueberries over each pancake.

When you begin to see bubbles forming and starting to burst on top, check that the underside is golden and if so, flip the pancake over as one side is now done.

Cook until the underside is golden again and then remove from the pan onto a plate.

Add more oil to the pan as needed to prevent the pancakes sticking too much to the pan.

Repeat this process until you’ve used up all your batter.

You can keep your pancakes warm in the oven at 90 degrees, but if you’re quick and keep them covered with foil, they should keep warm that way too.

Whilst you’re making your pancakes you can get on with making your side of bananas. Using a separate frying pan, add your coconut oil and heat over a low heat until it has started to melt and then add your cut bananas. Keep turning and after a few minutes they should be slightly golden and cooked through.

Assemble a stack of pancakes (if that’s your fancy) with a side of bananas, honey and a good dollop of Greek yoghurt.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Desserts, Lunch, Recipes, Restaurant and Cafe Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ricotta blueberry pancakes with a side of bananas, honey and Greek yoghurt

  1. Hows london says:

    Thanks for the low down on pancakes, great intel! Definitely go to Brew, one of my faves x

  2. Tai East says:

    Love this idea! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Hazelnut and butter porridge topped with grated apple | One hand in the cookie jar

Leave a Reply

