Dark Chocolate Orange Suchard

Over the last couple of weeks on holiday, I was lucky enough to be staying in a lovely apartment overlooking St Petersburg Beach in Tampa, Florida. Due to the awful weather we’ve had in England over the Winter and what seems to be Spring too, I spent as many hours in the sunshine as I could catching up on some much needed Vitamin D. Priorities were definitely tanning over cooking for a couple of weeks.

However, with our penultimate night looming and a dinner in organised, I wanted to make sure we had a nice dessert to end our meal watching the sunset. The views really were stunning and the sun was a ball of orange as it set over the sea.

032

I didn’t have my usual baking tools to hand, so I wanted to make something simple that wouldn’t require me spending hours in the kitchen, but complemented the setting.

In our family we have a firm family favourite dessert which is chocolate suchards. They’ve been served up on special occasions as long as I can remember and I can clearly picture my mum making them…. always having to use dozens of eggs to make up the quantities required to feed the masses. Eventually I took up the mantle and then my sister grabbed the reins on perfecting the perfect chocolate suchard.

They are quite simply chocolatey heaven!

They are slightly lighter than a chocolate mousse and we’ve always made them with Dairy Milk to get an even creamier flavour. Whilst they are very sweet (and we serve them in large ramekins!), I’m not sure I’ve ever seen my brother JJ not go in for seconds. My sister and I have also been known to stash a couple in the back of the fridge for the next day.

I hadn’t made them for a while so asked mum to email over the recipe to remind me of the quantities.

Chocolate Suchard Recipe

Having spent some time wandering round Publix (a big supermarket chain in the US) I discovered that there was no Dairy Milk (which is what we would always use) and no double cream or they didn’t call it that anyway. So… I went to plan B!

I was going to have to buy some dark Lindt chocolate which meant I wanted a flavour to cut through the bitterness and seeing as I was in the sunshine state; it had to be some lovely ripe oranges.

019

I also used some ‘heavy’ (as they called it) whipping cream, which I thought I could lightly whip to add some thickness or I was concerned, the mixture might be too runny and not set.

The result was a lovely rich dark chocolate orange suchard which complimented the setting perfectly.

024

The orange flavour shone through, but there was still the lightness of bubbles from the egg whites that meant it wasn’t heavy or too sickly. It reminded me of an orange aero in flavour and the bubbly resemblance from its lightness.

027

Whilst I still prefer the original chocolate suchard made with Dairy Milk (it’s hard to argue with perfection and all the good memories it conjures up), the dark chocolate orange suchard was a lovely change and a hopefully another generation of the original.

021

Dark Chocolate Orange Suchards

Serves 2

Ingredients

100g Dark Chocolate (minimum 70% cocoa solids)

4 tablespoons whipped cream, lightly whipped (or if you prefer 2 tablespoons double cream)

2 eggs, separated

Method

Melt 100g dark chocolate in a bowl over hot water (make sure the water doesn’t touch the bottom of the bowl).

Whip the cream until it has more thickness and add to the chocolate.

Lift the chocolate off the heat and add the egg yolks and mix thoroughly.

Whisk the egg whites and fold into the chocolate. Make sure you fold the egg whites in gently so that you keep the air in the mixture.

Pour into individual ramekins and pop in the fridge to set.

I would leave them to set for at least 6-8 hours or overnight.

Serve straight from the fridge and enjoy… preferably overlooking the ocean as the sun sets.

028

This entry was posted in Baking, Creamy Desserts, Desserts, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dark Chocolate Orange Suchard

  1. I tend not to put cream in my mousses as I love them dark and chocolaty but these do look very good!

    • I know what you mean, I always think of those more as a chocolate pot. The amount of double cream isn’t too bad though. It really is a heart attack waiting to happen in a ramekin!

Leave a Reply

